Articles of Belief

We believe the Church has set forth the principal Doctrines of the Christian Faith in the Nicene Creed, and we accept both the Nicene Creed and the Apostles’ Creed.

Nicene Creed

I. We believe in one God, the Father, the Almighty, maker of heaven and earth, and of all that is seen and unseen;
II. We believe in one Lord, Jesus Christ, the only Son of God, eternally begotten of the Father, God of God, Light of Light, true God from true God, begotten not made, one in being with the Father. Through him all things were made.
III. For us men and for our salvation he came down from heaven: by the power of the Holy Spirit he was born of the Virgin Mary, and became man.
IV. For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate; he suffered, died, and was buried.
V. On the third day He rose again, in fulfillment of the Scriptures.
VI. He ascended into heaven and is seated on the right hand of the Father.
VII. He shall come again in glory to judge the living and the dead, and his kingdom will have no end.
VIII. We believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life, who proceeds from the Father (and the Son). With the Father and the Son together is worshipped and glorified. He has spoken through the Prophets.
IX. We believe in one holy catholic, and apostolic Church.
X. We acknowledge one Baptism for the forgiveness of sins.
XI. We look for the resurrection of the dead,
XII. And the Life of the world to come.

Apostles’ Creed

I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.
I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord.
He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit and born of the Virgin Mary.
He suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended to the dead.
On the third day he rose again.
He ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,
The holy catholic Church, the communion of saints,
The forgiveness of sins,
The resurrection of the body,
And the life everlasting.

We believe the Sacraments are the fundamental ordinances of the Gospel, instituted by Jesus, the Christ as a special means of conveying Divine Grace, which are commonly called Sacraments, are Seven in number, namely Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist, Matrimony, Holy Orders, Reconciliation, and Anointing of the Sick.

Baptism is the rite of sprinkling, pouring or immersion with water, which symbolizes the washing away of the celebrant’s sins, and the death and rebirth of the celebrant.

Confirmation is the rite of anointing with Chrism and the laying on of hands by one possessing Apostolic Succession to impart the Holy Spirit to the celebrant.

The Eucharist, also known as the Lord’s Supper or Communion, was instituted by Jesus Christ at the Last Supper, and in the ecumenical spirit is to be shared with ALL who profess the Christian Faith.

Matrimony is the voluntary union of one man and one woman as husband and wife to become an image of the union between Christ and His Church.

Holy Orders is the ordination of a minister by the laying-on of hands, which imparts spiritual gifts. Bishops, who have an unbroken succession from the Apostles via the laying on of hands, consecrate and ordain the pastors and ministers chosen to serve in the Church. God’s mercy and grace are extended to all people, but everyone is not suited for the ministry.

Reconciliation is private or public confession and absolution.

Anointing of the Sick is the traditional rite for the healing of the sick.

The efficacy of the Sacraments depends upon the promise and appointment of God; nevertheless, they benefit only those who receive them worthily with faith, and with due preparation and disposition of mind.

Close Menu